aatkins

Engine Swap Questions!

4 posts / 719 viewsLast Reply

To anyone with experience,

I am at a crossroad of deciding to rebuild my current motor or put a 320i one in my '74 2002. I am leaning towards an entire conversion. I don't really know where to start with questions or what to even ask. I am not very experienced (obviously) and will be having someone make the swap for me. I just want to know what is going on.

Here are some general questions:

Are there any major mods that need to be to the car before a 320i is put into the 2002? Will it just slide right in where the 2002 motor was?

What other parts do I need to buy when the transmission is upgraded to a 5 speed?

I am really looking for stories, mishaps and successes, and general guide lines for the entire process. Any post or e-mail would be greatly appreciated.

-Alex

[email protected]

Go to the project blogs section and read. All your questions can be answered there.

I did not do an engine swap but I did buy a '74 02 automatic with an engine from a '77 320i in it this last year. It would seem to me that a swap would be less than a rebuild.

The 2.0 liter 320i engine is basically the same M10 engine with the later E21 head and a Bosch K-Jetronic fuel injection system. When my engine was swapped, the fuel injection system was scraped for the Weber 32/36 carb and intake manifold off the old engine. Also there is no provision on the engine for a mechanical fuel pump so a electric pump will have to be installed.