• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

WOT: Anybody ever do any video editing on a pc?...

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I'm video taping a short season of Junior Olympic volleyball and would like to edit it at the end of the season and burn it onto a DVD. I've never done anything like that before and wondered if anyone else on the board has experience. I would be using my system here at work (3ghz HP Workstation with a DVD writer). Is there a software package I should use for a pc that is good for beginners? I've heard that getting the image from the tape to the computer is an important step as far as quality goes. Firewire?

I'm a complete newbie to this stuff, so keep it simple if you have comments. 8-)

Dan

Guest Anonymous

... I use a mac, but for a pc Adobe Premiere ($500 or thereabouts)

is probably a good editor to start with. And yes, if the footage

you shot is on a digital camera, Firewire is the only way to go.

Once you Firewire it into Premiere you can edit it, then export it to

DVD.

I've also heard about a good basic pc video editor called Vegas...

haven't used it, but I hear it's good and simple to use.

If you have access to a Macintosh, what you're describing would

be very easy with apple's basic iMovie software (free), or their

higher-level Final Cut Express ($300 or so). I use apple's Final

Cut Pro for my professional work.

hope this helps,

Dave

Guest Anonymous