• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Noob needs help! 69 2002 cold start procedure

Aloha all,

Just for fair warning, I am a noob. I know just enough to get myself in trouble. I recently acquired a 1969 2002, and its definitely going to be a long journey to get her back to the original glory.

That being said I have a question that I've searched for here but can't find a step by step answer for. How do I start this thing?

Specifically in the morning, after its been sitting all night its super fickle. It has a manual choke, I can provide pics if they're needed.

Here's the starting history, I had it sitting at a friends house this past week, just got it this weekend, at his place it would sit all day, I would come over in the afternoon to work on it and just turn the key, started every time no problem, been sitting for days and starts right up. I got it running well enough to bring to my place and bring it home. The next morning (5:30 am) I go to start it up and she won't turn over, can't figure it out. I come home that night and figure out that it has a manual choke, I put the choke on full, pump the gas 2-3 times, turn the key and it starts right up, open up the choke and she idles fine. Drive it around all day, make multiple stops, starts up w/ just a turn of the key all day no problem.

The next two mornings, I try to follow the same procedure, full choke2-3 pumps of fuel, turn key. Sometimes it starts n then bogs out, then won't start, then turns over, bogs out again,half choke works one day, not the next...I can't seem to nail down the starting procedures, or what the problem is, I'm pretty sure its a noob mistake, but I can't figure it out....

Thanks in advance. And many more questions to come. [/b]

no cranking

or

no starting (engine firing)