M20 or S-14.....

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

...I know there's lots of info out there and I'll start sifting soon, but first I would like to get some impressions from the message boards. Even though my Tii motor still pulls strong, I am going to start acquiring parts for my engine upgrade for when the M10 gets tired. I am torn between the two obvious choices. Considering that both motors are a step up in performance I will decide based on these things in order of importance :

1. ease of installation-I'm not a pro but I have done the basic drivetrain upgrades-5-speed, LSD, clutch, etc. I want to do the

engine upgrade myself so the easier, the better.

2. Cost-I know the M20 can be had for less but will the difference be lost in purchasing parts beyond what would be needed to install the 4 cylinder S14, i.e. custom exhaust, etc.?

3. Availability-How tough is it to find a good S14 vs. M20?

4. Performance-If I go to all the trouble to do the upgrade, it had better haul ass well above and beyond what my M10 does. Keep in mind that I easily hang with E-30/325s already. I'm hoping the reduced weight of the 02 will give me a big power to weight advantage over most E-30s.

Well, what do you think?

Guest Anonymous

i'm in the same dilemma as well. here are my thoughts:

s14 - sexy and exotic. anything exotic, of course comes at a higher price tag... including maintenance. you get royalty status with this baby under that hood.

m20 - the only person who will truly appreciate the outcome of this conversion is the person behind wheel.

but then again, the only thing that matters to hot babes is how nice the car looks and how shinny the paint is... well, it's true for the materialistic ones... :P

my '02 cents.

cheers,

arnel

Guest Anonymous