14th Annual SoCal Vintage BMW Meet 2021! “All couped up”

Registration is still open. Rally from NorCal is scheduled for Friday. Post your event photos.

SoCal Vintage is Here! 

Post your photos!

change long differential to short

HenryC

I have a l969 1600 with a l972 2000 engine. I want to convert the 4.11 long differential to a later model 3.64 short differential. I have acquired the rear crossmember, driveshaft, diff., trailing arms with stub axles. and axles with CV joints. I am not a mechanic and need to know the step by step procedure to remove old assembly and install the new assembly. There is probably a thread, but I cannot locate it. If someone could direct me in that direction, I would appreciate it. Also, do I need any other parts? Thanks in advance for any help. HenryC

Coupla things you didn't mention:

1. Your 1600 has smaller rear brakes than the 2002; are you also installing the 2002 brakes you presumably got with the rest of the rear axle assy?

2. IIRC your 1600 used a 6 bolt guibo (not the same as the one on the automatics or used in a 5 speed conversion), so do you have a proper 4 bolt spider for the tailshaft of your 1600 tranny? If you used the 2002 tranny along with the engine, this shouldn't be a problem.

With these problems solved...

Basically, then you

1. unbolt the old driveshaft and remove it

2. disconnect the hydraulic brake hoses at the rear crossmember (a good time to install new hoses if yours are original)

3. disconnect the emergency brake cables

4. support the diff/crossmember with a trolly jack and unbolt the assy from the body, and lower it.

Install the new stuff in reverse order. Lots of niggly details, such as guibo bolt placement, pre-loading the center support bearing etc. Check archives or the factory manual for all the details.

cheers

mike

Coupla things you didn't mention: