14th Annual SoCal Vintage BMW Meet 2021! “All couped up”

Registration is still open. Rally from NorCal is scheduled for Friday. Post your event photos.

SoCal Vintage is Here! 

Post your photos!

Coolant Loss- no dripping and white/bluish smoke!

adrianolsen

We got a 1974 2002 a couple of months ago we are gradually losing (faster than normal) coolant. there are no coolant drip marks anywhere to be found and im guessing that the coolant is somehow (im a total noob but really interested in learning!) leaking into the engine and showing up when slowing down from high speeds as whitish blue smoke out of the tailpipe. The stock radiator is pretty beat up (bent fins) and I was curious if replacing with a refurbed stock radiator (maybe upgrading to 3 cores + adding a better 5 blade fan?) would be the right move to address the problem and improve engine cooling. Thanks in advance for the time and thoughts!

You are right. White/blue smoke is coolant being burned in the engine. That is a heaping pile of not good. Most likely a blown head gasket. Your beat-up radiator probably does not keep the car cool. I bet it overheated at some point in the past and blew the head gasket and possibly warped the head.

Since water does not combust or lubricate very well you should get it fixed as soon as possible but it will not be cheap.

next time you drive the car till HOT,

park it,

do not touch the rad cap - leave it alone to hold

HOT pressure

remove all the spark plugs,

let it sit for 1 hour 45 minutes

now crank the motor (have a helper man the key)

and you watch what pumps out of the

spark plug holes. Dares yer answer.

p.s. - was there crusty deposits on the spark plugs ?

read-up, buy a torque wrench and a head gasket. Maybe your head is OK, pull it off and bring it to a shop so they can check it out, and plain it if needed.

Lots of threads on here about replacing a head gasket.

Good luck-

Scott