14th Annual SoCal Vintage BMW Meet 2021! “All couped up”

Registration is still open. Rally from NorCal is scheduled for Friday. Post your event photos.

SoCal Vintage is Here! 

Post your photos!

IE Exhaust note test and Deceleration smoke out

eurotrash

Disclaimer..I am not an expert and have done the impossible...cracked a pressure plate bell so read with the greatest of caution....

Man I think almost every 02 I have been behind does just that. But I can assure you they did not do it from the factory. I have a new rebuilt motor and head(all new parts) and I get NO smoke.

My previous motor had about 100k on it. I could smell the oil burn on decel but could never see it. I tried just rebuilding the head but that did not help. I was using a quart of oil every 500 miles or so also. I got tired of the smell and decided to get rebuilt.

It appears to be a combination of two things. During those hi rpm you get high crank pressure. Then on the decel you get some near negative vacuum and taadaa you hit the gas and burn some of the sucked in oil. Crank pressures get high and forces oil past the guides a bit, also you are possibily getting blow by at the rings. I could see this with my car because my oil got carbon rich pretty quickly.

..... no , " homeopathic " would be adding

a can of Marvel Mystery Oil to the oil AND gas tank

and driving like hell non-stop for 200 miles

and then changing the oil and filter, and

then repeating the long high-rpm down-hill

off throttle test...................

Oil-Additive-1UET4_AS01.JPG