• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

IE Exhaust note test and Deceleration smoke out

eurotrash

Disclaimer..I am not an expert and have done the impossible...cracked a pressure plate bell so read with the greatest of caution....

Man I think almost every 02 I have been behind does just that. But I can assure you they did not do it from the factory. I have a new rebuilt motor and head(all new parts) and I get NO smoke.

My previous motor had about 100k on it. I could smell the oil burn on decel but could never see it. I tried just rebuilding the head but that did not help. I was using a quart of oil every 500 miles or so also. I got tired of the smell and decided to get rebuilt.

It appears to be a combination of two things. During those hi rpm you get high crank pressure. Then on the decel you get some near negative vacuum and taadaa you hit the gas and burn some of the sucked in oil. Crank pressures get high and forces oil past the guides a bit, also you are possibily getting blow by at the rings. I could see this with my car because my oil got carbon rich pretty quickly.

I'm not as dumb as I look

74 Verona

06 Audi A3

09 Mercedes C300

06 VW Passat

03 VW Conv Beetle

throw some valve guides and valve guide seals into

the gas tank

Is that like homeopathic car repair?

'69 2002

'59 MGA

'67 Chevy C20

“Suppose you were an idiot and suppose you were a member of Congress. But I repeat myself.” - Mark Twain

..... no , " homeopathic " would be adding

a can of Marvel Mystery Oil to the oil AND gas tank

and driving like hell non-stop for 200 miles

and then changing the oil and filter, and

then repeating the long high-rpm down-hill

off throttle test...................

Oil-Additive-1UET4_AS01.JPG