Eddhead

Hi all,

I've been lurking on the board for a while, eagerly awaiting a reunion with my 1970 1600, and now that we're back together, I thought that I'd introduce us.

That's Nina, and I've had her for 13 years. I bought from her from a guy in West L.A. for $750 when I was a poor grad student. When I got her, she had been repainted by a P.O. to a non-BMW color, had had her original motor replaced with a 2.0 from a '69 02, and generally ran all right. Best of all, she was very nearly rust-free (one spot on the trunk lid and one creased area on the passenger's side of the hood)! She was a daily driver for two years until a bad wheel cylinder, general braking problems, and the need for more reliable transportation ended with her in storage for nine years.

In 2008, she had a rebuild of her braking system (she still had the 1600 drums in the back, plus pretty shot lines) and a renewal of the front end, so she drives and stops pretty steady now. And then this past summer, she got a paint job back to her original Riviera with replacement of missing trim and some minor bodywork.

Her good points:

No rust

Strong engine

Updated brake system

Rebuilt front end and new struts

Her not-so-good points:

At some point, she was probably crunched between two cars. There's a dent in the rear bumper and some wrinkling of the sheet metal along the rear panel on both sides of the license plate (she also had smashed license plate lights when I bought, subsequently replaced), and her front bumper sagged noticeably because the bumper mounts had been pushed down into the nose panel (repaired and remounted this summer). Also the hood doesn't close exactly right, which is something I fear I may have to live with.

Her paint job is good, but not great. There's a LOT of overspray that I'd like to address at some point. But she's probably a five-footer.