• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

3rd Brake Light: Round Two!

roadhog0

As many of you know, I like to preserve my car cause I'm a lot better mechanic than body man!  :rolleyes:  So I did the strip light 3rd brake light a few years ago and was only mildly happy with it. It was large and mounted up HIGH so the soccer mom in the Excursion could possibly see it, not low and small like many of the ones I see posted on here. But the issue was it was never really "HEY I'm stopping here," bright. It was also pointed downwards the way that I had it mounted (taped to the window gasket), so it worked better at night than during the day when I do most of my driving.

IMG_0196.JPG

IMG_0193.JPG

So early this year I got back on our best friend for cheap parts, flebay. and started looking around for what I could get for a fair price that would possibly fit in these cars and I came across a few different things. One of them was another strip light similar to the one I removed but with newer and brighter LED's and the other option I liked was this 80 LED bar. I went for the second option because it was capable of being aimed and was almost as big as the one I was removing but had more LED's than the other options.

IMG_0188.JPG

IMG_0190.JPG

IMG_0191.JPG

So it showed up in the mail today and I quickly got to unwrapping it an installing it in the car. I also found out that it was a good thing I removed the one I installed a few years earlier because the urethane like coating on it had dried up and was cracking and the whole thing was falling apart.

IMG_0209.JPG